1 Bashura

Julian Barnes Bibliography Maker

Julian Barnes, one of the greatest contemporary English writers was born on January 19, 1946 in Leicester, England. Six week after birth, his family moved to outer suburbs of London where he studied at the City of London School (1957 to 1964). Then at Magdalen College (Oxford), he graduated in modern languages with honors in 1968. After completing his graduation he got hired as a lexicographer at Oxford English Dictionary for their supplement and worked with them for three years. Later on, he worked as reviewer and also as a literary editor for British political magazine, “The New Statesman” and the “New Review”. He then began working as a television critic with “The New Statesman” as well as with newspaper “The Observer”.

Barnes has been very a creative and challenging writer. He wrote his first novel “Metroland” for which he won Somerset Award in 1981. Barnes’s breakthrough novel Flaubert’s Parrot won him two exclusive awards Geoffrey Memorial Prize (1985) and Prix Médicis (1986). He has been the name behind some very fine contributions to European literature for which he has earned numerous awards. He also translated a French book by author Alphonse Daudet as well as Volker Kriegel’s collection of German cartoons. From 1986 to 1988 he won E. M. Forster Award (American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters), Gutenberg Prize, Grinzane Prize (Italy) each year respectively. He has been made Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in 1988, Officier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in 1995 and Commandeur de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in 2004 by the French Minister of Culture. In 1991 he published “Talking It Over” which earned him Prix Femina in 1992 making him the only English writer who has won two awards in France. In addition to the above, he won the Shakespeare Prize from FVS Foundation in 1993 and the Austrian State Prize (European Literature) in 2004. Then in 2011 he got the David Cohen Prize for his services to literature.

Along with all the above mentioned work, Barnes earned the reputation of a very fine crime fiction writer with the pen name “Dan Kavanagh”. He wrote four crime novels titled as: Duffy -1980; Fiddle City-1981; Putting the Boot In (1985); Going to the Dogs -1987. All four novels were well received by the crime fiction lovers.

Julian Barnes’s latest successful novel, “The Sense of an Ending” finally made won him “Man Booker Prize” in 2011 after being shortlisted for his three renowned novels in previous years (Flaubert’s Parrot 1984, England, England 1998, and Arthur & George 2005). His other well know works include “Staring at the Sun”, “A History of the World in 10½ Chapters” and “Cross Channel” to name a few.

Julian Barnes had the family who were highly dedicated to literature services. Both his parents were French teachers. His elder brother Jonathan Barnes is a philosopher specializing in ancient philosophy. His wife Pat Kavanagh was a British literary agent until her death on 20 October 2008. Barnes now lives in London. The author has earned himself extensive fame and respect because of the nature of his writing dealing with history, truth and love.

Buy Books by Julian Barnes

How to Cite This Page

Julian Barnes

APA Style
Julian Barnes. (2012). FamousAuthors.org. Retrieved 04:07, March 11, 2018 from https://www.famousauthors.org/julian-barnes

Harvard Style
Julian Barnes [Internet]. 2012. https://www.famousauthors.org/julian-barnes, March 11

MLA Style
" Julian Barnes." 2012. FamousAuthors.org 11 March, https://www.famousauthors.org/julian-barnes

MHRA Style
' Julian Barnes', FamousAuthors.org,(2012) https://www.famousauthors.org/julian-barnes [accessed March 11, 2018]

Chicago Style
" Julian Barnes," FamousAuthors.org, https://www.famousauthors.org/julian-barnes (accessed March 11, 2018).

Julian Barnes [Internet]. FamousAuthors.org; 2012 [cited 2018 March 11]. Available from: https://www.famousauthors.org/julian-barnes.

Bluebook Style
Julian Barnes, https://www.famousauthors.org/julian-barnes (last visited March 11, 2018).

AMA Style
Julian Barnes, https://www.famousauthors.org/julian-barnes (last visited March 11, 2018).

Julian Barnes, in full Julian Patrick Barnes, pseudonyms Edward Pygge and Dan Kavanagh, (born January 19, 1946, Leicester, England), British critic and author of inventive and intellectualnovels about obsessed characters curious about the past.

Barnes attended Magdalen College, Oxford (B.A., 1968), and began contributing reviews to the Times Literary Supplement in the 1970s while publishing thrillers under his Kavanagh pseudonym. These books—which include Duffy (1980), Fiddle City (1981), Putting the Boot In (1985), and Going to the Dogs (1987)—feature a man named Duffy, a bisexual ex-cop turned private detective.

The first novel published under Barnes’s own name was the coming-of-age story Metroland (1980). Jealous obsession moves the protagonist of Before She Met Me (1982) to scrutinize his new wife’s past. Flaubert’s Parrot (1984) is a humorous mixture of biography, fiction, and literary criticism as a scholar becomes obsessed with Flaubert and with the stuffed parrot that Flaubert used as inspiration in writing the short story “Un Coeur simple.” Barnes’s later novels include A History of the World in 101/2 Chapters (1989), Talking It Over (1991), The Porcupine (1992), and Cross Channel (1996). In the satirical England, England (1998), Barnes skewers modern England in his portrayal of a theme park on the Isle of Wight, complete with the royal family, the Tower of London, Robin Hood, and pubs.

Critics thought Barnes showed a new depth of emotion in The Lemon Table (2004), a collection of short stories in which most of the characters are consumed by thoughts of death. He explored why some people are remembered after their death and others are not in the historical novelArthur & George (2005), in which one of the title characters is based on Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. In 2011 Barnes published Pulse, a collection of short stories, as well as The Sense of an Ending, a Booker Prize-winning novel that uses an unreliable narrator to explore the subjects of memory and aging. The Noise of Time (2016) fictionalizes episodes from the life of Russian composer Dmitry Shostakovich.

Barnes’s nonfiction work includes Something to Declare (2002), a collection of essays about France and French culture; The Pedant in the Kitchen (2003), which explores his love of food; Through the Window (2012), an exploration of his literary influences; and Keeping an Eye Open: Essays on Art (2015). His memoirNothing to Be Frightened Of (2008) is an honest, oftentimes jarringly critical look at his relationship with his parents and older brother. Levels of Life (2013)—which pays tribute to his wife, who died in 2008—is a series of linked essays.

Leave a Comment


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *